Name: Gubyaukgyi Temple
Built by: King Kyansittha
Built in: AD 1198
Style: Early 12thcentury Indian style cave temple
Location: At Old Bagan
Monument Number: No. 298
Situated just to the left of the road as you enter Myinkaba, this temple was built in 1113 by Kyanzittha’s son Rajakumar, on his father’s death. Prince Rajakumar was the son of King Kyanzittha and the niece of a monk.
Kyanzittha met the woman while he was a refugee before his time. Rajakumar was the rightful heir to the throne of Bagan. But Kyanzittha had designated his grandson, Alaungsithu, as heir, and Rajakumar relinquished his right. The temple is in an Indian style, the monument consists of a large shrine room attached to a smaller antechamber.
The fine stucco-work on its exterior walls is in particularly good condition. The Early period temple is also of particular interest for the well-preserved paintings inside, which are thought to date from the original construction of the temple and to be the oldest remaining in Bagan.
The temple is typical of the Mon style in that the interior is dimly lit by perforated rather than open windows. It is generally kept locked and there are temple keepers from the village and can ask for permission to open it.