Name: Myazedi Pagoda
Built by: King Prince Yazakumar, Son of King Kyansittha
Built in: AD 1067
Style: First half of the 12thcentury
Location: At Old Bagan
Monument Number: No. 139
Myazedi Pagoda Next to the Gubyaukgyi stands the gilded Myazedi or ‘Emerald Stupa’. A four-sided pillar in a cage between the two monuments bears an inscription consecrating Gubyaukgyi and written in four languages – Pyu, Mon, Old Burmese and Pali. Its linguistic and historical significance is great since it establishes the Pyu as an important cultural influence in early Bagan and relates the chronology of the Bagan kings. The inscription was about the Prince Rajakumar’s feelings towards his father and the choice of the heir to the throne.